Written on Thursday, June 13, 2024, 9 pm

What notable things happened today?

Oh boy. I think you’d think I was telling a tall tale if I just tell you the truth about the real things which really happened.

Ok, here we go.

Last night, Omaha had a terrible hail and wind storm.

Of course! Closing on Mom’s house is tomorrow at 2 pm. My brother who lives across the street told me the hail was tennis ball size. Wow!

We had plans to receive the furniture delivery for my oldest brother at his new assisted living apartment. We put a few things away, but he needs to know where his stuff is. He’ll rearrange everything after his move in.

We received the furniture, got a feel for the facility, and went to Mom’s house to assess damage.

Luckily, it’s not bad at all, but needs a repair. God was good to us. The day was full of “I can’t believe it!”

Tom’s house doesn’t appear to be damaged, but we will check again later. Lots going on.

Several calls with brother Steve about storm damage, calls with real estate agent, more papers to sign, and talks about possibilities. What a day!

Title company calls, note to self, and another call from title company telling me I don’t need to call the place with the info they wanted. Whew!

Emails, texts, and phone calls later, I’m relieved. The day didn’t destroy me, yet it tried to.

Yes, I was grateful the day didn’t make me surrender. We held steady and were still standing at the end of the day.

It was a huge victory, actually. And we’re praying for another victorious day tomorrow. Then our family home will belong to a new family. And we are grateful.

How about you? What significant things happened for you today?

Have you decided what to do on this sunny, hot day? We’re trying to catch up at home. Have a great Friday. See you tomorrow!

Leave a comment