Little Things

I had a great break from all things business, estates, housework, etc. while I sat in the lawn chair the Babe opened for me on the patio.

The Babe has graciously volunteered to weed Mom’s flowers. I’m unable to help, but I read the Michael Perry book “Truck.”

I read while the weeds were disappearing. It was beautiful, and it was the longest I’ve been outside yet this year. I need to do this often.

When I took breaks from reading, I put my head back and looked at the sky. It’s the header for Today’s blog.

The blue and the clouds made for a beautiful picture. It kept morphing into different shapes. I thought of how I learned to roller skate there all those years ago. We had scooters (powered by us!) to ride and a hula hoop or two to play with. The skates had keys and had to be fastened to soles of leather shoes. People did not wear sneakers and joggers didn’t exist yet. We all wore leather shoes, the soles extended a little beyond the upper and the two pieces were sewn together. The little extended piece of sole is where the clamp pieces sat as it was tightened. They didn’t damage the shoes.

I’m so happy I’ll get one more time to see Mom’s flowers bloom. It means a lot to me to be able to enjoy them.

Your mind can take you back to events, places, things you’ve learned, and fun you’ve had, if you sit in the right chair at the right time.

Have a great Saturday and we’ll see each other tomorrow.

Leave a comment