Electronics World

Some days, you plan a few errands and it feels as if the world plots against you.

I had some children’s books to return to Amazon, and went to the UPS store. I got there, they took the books, and I tried to bring up the QR Code on the return info so they could scan it from my phone.

After opening Amazon, it timed out several times. I restarted the phone, and again, it timed out. I showed a photo of the first QR Code. Then I left, taking the second book because we couldn’t bring up the second QR Code in Amazon.

We no sooner pulled out of the parking lot and my phone came to life. My Verizon network came to life, and brought up the second QR code. Just to be safe, I snapped a photo.

We closed out our current safe deposit box, and talked in the car over what will go in the new box at a bank closer to home. How strange it is, copies of both our Mother’s wills were in the box. Life insurance policies from my kids, which were transferred to them fifteen years ago were there, too. It just all goes too fast.

We went on to errands around the area, then continued back to the UPS Store. I was in and out in less than 90 seconds.

At the bank, we were introduced to space age technology. Once we had the paperwork finished, they had us step up to the retina scanner. How cool was that?

So we enter the vault, and locate the box # that is ours. It’s in the second to bottom in its row. We’re both unable to kneel on the floor to open the door. We couldn’t unlock the door. The teller was able to. New keys don’t work sometimes. They should now.

All the space age technology can’t help two old people open a locked door on a 5” x 10” lock box. Sheesh!

Sometimes we need to laugh at events in our lives. If you can’t laugh at yourself, I’m sure you’ll have a lot of stress you don’t need to have. We laughed after we returned home.

Yes, after paring down the papers to put in the safe deposit box, there are fewer items of note in our important papers. And fewer people we love.

We don’t know what’s ahead. Love your people, make sure to tell them how you feel. And be happy, and able to laugh. Laugh with your person. It helps. A lot. Aging is not for sissies!

Hope you have a wonderful Thursday. We’ll see each other tomorrow. Be safe out there.

Leave a comment