Epic Fail In The Kitchen?

Gosh, I honestly say in my over 53 years of living away from “home” I don’t remember an epic fail in the kitchen, either cooking or baking. I’ve had things turn out less than perfect, and not impressed with others, but a big fiasco, no.

I’ve grown now to want quick meals, reheating them, or even cooking them in stages. We often brown five pounds of hamburger at a time. We can easily freeze five one pound packages and have meat for several meals. Spaghetti and meat sauce, pizza, tacos, and goulash dinners will be quicker. Tuna casserole, or tuna salad sandwiches, are always good, and quick meals.

Yes, we go through the times of thinking we should eat healthier meals. During the time we did Keto, we ate very healthy meals. I miss some of them. I liked the spaghetti squash meals. I could eat spaghetti squash a lot. Vegetables are easy for me to like/eat. I know that’s a little weird, but I do. Might be why my cholesterol is so low. And that’s a wonderful thing.

I have a love of dessert. It’s the best part of a meal, celebration, or gathering. I’ve baked cakes and cookies for a long time. Dessert is a reward, so to speak. That attitude is supposed to be the old way of thinking, and sugary deserts are now taboo. I say all things in moderation, eh?

If you know me at all, you know ice cream is my favorite thing of all. I find everything about it is delightful; thinking about it, buying it for grandkids, and sharing it with them. Everyone is in a great mood when they have it. It could start world peace, don’t you think?

I started another book. This one is “Eerie Appalachia.” It is about legends, stories, dark secrets, and folklore in the Appalachians. It’s interesting how these stories continue to be passed down to new generations without losing their air of mystery.

I’m interested in learning about Smiling Man Indrid Cold, The Jersey Devil, and the Legend of Mothman. Every area has legends, and we’ve had them in Nebraska, too. The book is one of a group I purchased a couple months ago from The History Press. They’re a pleasant change of pace from regular fiction, historical fiction, and books on writing.

What are you reading? And I hope to sit outside tomorrow to read for a while. It’s the best part of fall afternoons. Have a great Wednesday, and see you tomorrow.

Leave a comment