Election Tuesday

Today is a big day for our nation. The nation I am so proud to be a citizen in. The greatest nation in the world. Sometimes we do things wrong. Most of the times, we do things right. Like only allowing white people to vote. No more. We saw the error in those ways and have righted the wrong. I remember many news stories from the 1960s. So much wrong. And we have rectified most of those by now. I think we are closer than we ever have been in treating people equally, women specifically. I am fortunate for the time I was in the workforce. Before the “Me Too” movement, I earned my way up the corporate ladder in Computer Programming training available. Within two years, I knew my current employer was not paying me according to my abilities. They thought it was enough to go from $11,500 a year to $15,500 and think that was enough. No, it wasn’t a fair wage.

I left the company and went to another large company in town. I earned an immediate $7,000 more. Six months later, enjoyed a promotion, and earned another $2,500. Sometimes you have to create your own opportunities. A wise boss from upper management taught me that, and I’ve never forgotten that piece of advice.

We need to remember we can work harder and smarter to change our situations. Often more training is paid for by an employer. Even better. They pay for your education in order for you to leave them. Perfect. Become more responsible for your fate. It is not the fault of an elected official miles away from you. Be prepared to work hard to change your circumstances. There is no better feeling than completely changing your life by your will and intelligence, and hard work. You can do it. I did, and I’m proud of that fact. President Reagan drastically cut programs to help divorced moms attending college. They used to have free day care. It ended the year I enrolled at the Community College. I didn’t like it, but couldn’t change it. Sometimes you survive out of sheer determination. I’d like to think that was the case.

When we first approached our polling place, it had a line clear around the building. We didn’t know that many people even lived in Gretna!. We went to do some other errands, and there were only maybe three or four people in line outside. It took less than twenty minutes. Good timing.

Keto Breakfast Egg Cups

This was our breakfast this morning. It was pretty good stuff with blueberries, and a few almonds. It filled us up and was tasty. I’m enjoying making these easy recipes and knowing we’ll help each other being supportive and honest. Yes. it will work. We’ve lost a few pounds already.

When we left the parking lot after voting, we came home to sit outside with the dogs. It’s a beautiful day, and we want to enjoy it. Breezy, but nice. Unfortunately, our pretty trees all around have turned color again, to a dingy, dead brown. They are falling with every gust of wind. It’s the last part of the cycle. I’m glad to be near the time of hunkering down for the winter. It’s time.

I really miss Tim Russert. Remember him? In 2000, he held the white erase board and scribbled on it while explaining results for various states. He had a lot of integrity, and I did not know what his party was. It didn’t matter. He reported the news, not his opinion. I dearly miss that. Informed and Fair.

I’m praying for healing, especially among families who split because of varied opinions. You may be sorry you wasted years being mad at your Mom or Dad over an election. You need them. They need you. Bury the hatchet, but not in each other. Reach out. Phone calls are pretty cheap. Reconcile. You’ll be glad you did.

Thanks for reading. I hope you have a lovely rest of the day. I will be here again tomorrow, and hope you are too. Be Kind. Be Humble. Be Patriotic. Go Vote. And God Bless America!

Leave a comment