Blog Post #80!

Wow, it appears we have been on a real journey these past 80 blog posts. They have not been posted day after day, but I believe they really started after our Roxie died and I had a need to get the sadness out. It worked, and I thank you all for listening, for sharing in our grief and pain, and walking along with us until the sun came out again.

And our beautiful little Goldie, she makes me smile. The dark, dark brown eyes are stunning on her. Such a good puppy, too. Most of the time. We were lucky and she slept until 5:30 a.m. Sunday morning after having Puppy Training on Saturday. That girl was worn out!!!

Sleepy girl by the fireplace. Does it get any better than this??

WordPress is still a mystery to me at times, but we have muddled through enough times to have written and published eighty posts! That just feels like a monumental number of times to sit down and write 500 plus words on any subject that strikes me as important that day. I’m happy to have kept up the pace, and I hope to not run out of ideas. As long as there are people on this earth, there will be topics to write about. I hope you’re all along for the ride.

Learning WordPress is a challenge at times.

In keeping up with the spirit of NaNoWriMo, I need to write about 2200 words today. I’m documenting some memories of Christmas past, and talking about our Great Grandmothers on my mom’s side of the family. There were none on my father’s side of the family.

Is it me or do others of you Boomers remember “elderly” Great Grandmothers? I do not remember them even talking very much at all. Maybe it was because they were hard of hearing?? The great grandma’s always sat next to each other, but I don’t remember hearing them talk. I would hope they did, but maybe not?? My Grandma’s mother seemed very old, her hair was a yellowish white. I have no idea how old she was when I was in sixth grade. And Grandma’s dressed like Grandma’s! I would think at about fifty they would don those tie-on leather pumps that were maybe sporting a two inch heel?? I cannot imagine wearing those shoes, but they were used to it. And a dress and stockings every day.

I remember the laughter my older brother Tom and I suppressed when our Grandpa’s Mother asked if I liked my “toilet water?” We were splitting a gut, so to speak. I said “Just fine.” He never let me forget that one. For you younger folks, that was a type of fragrance women and girls wore some time ago. It had no bad connotations, and actually meant “Grooming Water.” Eau de Toilette or Toilet Water is a lightly scented cologne used as a skin freshener. And it has only been in the past fifty years or so that people have bathed or showered every day, so it wasn’t unusual to simply freshen up a bit in the mornings, and not have the full bath or shower routine daily. Times have changed, and I’m glad they have.

It’s nearly time to pick up our granddaughter from school. I’m eager to see what is going on in her world. She talks and gives me the scoop about a lot of stuff. I love our grandkids, I’m so lucky to be the bonus grandma to three and the bio grandma to one. They are all the apple of our eye(s).

Thank you for being here for all these posts. I’m looking forward to you coming along on the rest of the journey. And don’t forget to like the blog, the blog post, and leave a comment wayyyyy below. You’ll get an entry for each like, each comment, from November 1 through November 30. Go back and read other blogs, comment if you’re inclined. They all count. On December 1, 2019 I will draw for a $50 Visa Gift Card. It could be yours! Thank you, and we’ll see you tomorrow.

One thought on “Blog Post #80!

Leave a comment